top of page

Triclosan - a problematic substance

Triclosan is an antimicrobial active substance that is effective against, bacteria, fungi and enveloped viruses. It is used as a biocide and preservative and is present in numerous cosmetic products such as toothpaste, antibacterial hand soaps, disinfectants and detergents.

Triclosan, which exhibits chemical persistence, has been demonstrated to accumulate in aquatic organisms as a result of the increasing use of the substance worldwide. It is characterised by very high toxicity and hence is an environmental hazard. In addition, in the Review of Regulation (EC) No. 1223/2009 by the European Parliament from November 2018, it is named as a suspected endocrine disruptor.

 

The following health disorders are suspected of being caused by triclosan:

  • Reduced fertility

  • Increased risk of miscarriage

  • Decreased weight, size and head circumference of babies

  • To a limited extent, epidemiological indications of allergic conditions 

  • Increased blood values for markers of oxidative stress and the thyroid hormone triiodothyronine 

  • Possible growth of liver tumours and liver inflammation

 

In 2006, the German Federal Institute for Risk Assessment (BfR) advised against the large-scale use of triclosan in households due to concerns about bacteria developing resistance. In 2017, researchers from the University of Birmingham published a study showing that microbes resistant to quinolone antibiotics (e.g. clioquinol) also displayed defence mechanisms against triclosan. 

 

The decision of 8 February 2016 of the EU Biocides Regulation banned the use of triclosan in hygiene products applied to large areas of skin. However, triclosan is still present in products such as toothpaste, soaps and shower gels, and also as a biocide in doctors’ surgeries and hospitals.

In the dermatology sector, triclosan is also a component of some extemporaneous preparations (NRF 11.135 and NRF 11.122) and customised formulations.

Clinics and practices are therefore recommended to subject the prescription or use of topical preparations containing triclosan to careful examination.

© Dr. med. Dipl. Biol. Susanne Saha 03/2021

bottom of page

Triclosan

Triclosan ist ein antimikrobieller Wirkstoff, der gegen Bakterien Pilze und behüllte Viren wirksam ist. Er wird als Biozid und Konservierungsstoff eingesetzt und findet Anwendung in zahlreichen kosmetischen Produkten wie z. B. Zahnpasta, antibakteriellen Handwaschseifen, Desinfektionsmitteln und Reinigungsmitteln.

Triclosan akkumuliert, bei chemischer Langlebigkeit, nachweislich durch den weltweit zunehmenden Gebrauch in aquatischen Organismen. Es zeichnet sich hier durch sehr hohe Toxizität aus und ist damit gefährlich für die Umwelt. Zudem wird es im Review of Regulation (EC) No 1223/2009 des Europäischen Parlaments vom November 2018 als mutmaßlicher endokriner Disruptor benannt.

 

Folgende Gesundheitsstörungen stehen im Verdacht, durch Triclosan verursacht zu werden:

 

  • Abnahme der Fertilität

  • Risikoerhöhung für Aborte

  • Abnahme von Gewicht, Größe und Kopfumfang von Säuglingen

  • Eingeschränkte epidemiologische Hinweise für allergische Erkrankungen 

  • Erhöhung der Blutwerte für Marker von oxidativem Stress und dem Schilddrüsenhormon Triiodthyronin 

  • Möglicherweise Wachstum von Lebertumoren und Entzündung der Leber

 

2006 riet das Bundesinstitut für Risikobewertung (BfR) vom großflächigen Einsatz in Haushalten ab, da eine Resistenzbildung von Bakterien zu befürchten sei. 2017 veröffentlichten Wissenschaftler der Universität Birmingham eine Studie, die zeigte, dass Keime, die gegen Chinolon-Antibiotika (z. B. Clioquinol) resistent waren, auch Abwehrmechanismen gegen Triclosan zeigten. 

 

Mit Entscheidung vom 08.02.2016 der EU-Biozidverordnung  wurde Triclosan für die Anwendung in Hygieneartikeln, die großflächig auf die Haut aufgetragen werden, verboten. Triclosan befindet sich jedoch aktuell weiterhin in Produkten wie z. B. Zahnpasta, Seifen und Duschgelen sowie als Biozid in Arztpraxen oder Krankenhäusern.

In der Dermatologie ist Triclosan zudem Bestandteil in einigen Magistralrezepturen (NRF 11.135 und NRF 11.122) und Individualrezepturen.

Kliniken und Praxen wird daher empfohlen, die Verordnung oder Anwendung triclosanhaltiger Externa einer genauen Prüfung zu unterziehen.

© Dr. med. Dipl. Biol. Susanne Saha 03/2021