top of page

Titanium dioxide
Optical brightener with health risk

Titanium dioxide is a color pigment which has the highest covering power of all white pigments. It is chemically stable and considered non-toxic.

 

In medicine, it is used as a pure optical colorant with the INCI (International Nomenclature of Cosmetic Ingredients) designation CI 77891 for tablets, creams, cosmetics and in sunscreens as a mineral UV filter.

As a coloring food additive E171 , it is added, for example, to candies, chewing gum, toothpaste, mozzarella and as a white color pigment in confectionery and coatings.  90% of titanium dioxide is used in industry for the production of paints, coatings, paper and plastics.

 

Titanium dioxide is formed from titanium, the fourth most common metal in the world. When it reacts with oxygen, titanium dioxide (TiO2) is formed. Since pure titanium hardly occurs on earth, it has to be extracted from titanium iron ore in an energy-intensive and cost-intensive process. The manufacturing process therefore leads to the emission of greenhouse gases and is climate relevant. In Germany alone, around 550,000 metric tons of titanium dioxide are produced each year as microparticles (particles larger than 100 nm) or nanoparticles (particles smaller than 100 nm). This corresponds to a total share of 10% of the world market. Nano titanium dioxides are among the most frequently produced nanoparticles.

Uptake of titanium dioxide through the skin

 

In 2010, a study concluded that the uptake of nanoparticles through the skin is determined by the particle size and that this depends on the state of health of the skin. On the other hand, no statement has yet been made on the uptake of titanium dioxide particles through tattoos.

Uptake of titanium dioxide via the gastrointestinal tract

In a 2016 study by the University Hospital of Zurich, it was shown in a mouse model that titanium dioxide (nano) particles as food additive E171 below 100 nm led to an increase in further inflammation and damage to the intestinal mucosa in mice with inflammatory bowel disease. The Zurich scientists therefore recommended that patients with intestinal inflammation avoid foods containing titanium dioxide. French researchers also showed in rats in 2017 that ingestion of E171 in nanoparticle form can cause intestinal inflammation and continues to damage the immune system.

No appropriate studies are yet available on the carcinogenic potential of titanium dioxide (nano) particles after oral exposure. However, because titanium dioxide takes a long time to degrade in tissues, it has the potential to accumulate, leading to the assumption that tumors may result from accumulation. The European Chemicals Agency (ECHA) database therefore lists titanium dioxide as a possible carcinogen.

According to the German Federal Institute for Risk Assessment (BfR), it is currently not possible to assess whether the European Food Safety Authority's (EFSA) assessment of E171 can also be applied to titanium dioxide particles (CI 77891) in toothpaste used as cosmetic products and has therefore recommended further investigations.

Uptake of titanium dioxide via the lungs

 

The Scientific Committee on Consumer Safety (SCCS) states that based on current data and the possible classification of titanium dioxide under the CLP Regulation as a category 2 carcinogen (inhalation), the use of titanium dioxide in powder form in externals is not safe for general consumers if inhaled.

 

In sunscreens, titanium dioxide (nano) particles are added to prevent the whitening effect as mineral UV protection. Already defined nanoparticle forms that could lead to exposure to the lungs are not allowed here. However, a final assessment of exposure to nanoparticles and the resulting necessary amendment to the EU Cosmetics Regulation is still pending. By September 9, 2021 solid and liquid cosmetic products as well as sprays containing at least 1% titanium dioxide throughout the EU will have to be separately labeled with warnings. However, there will be no ban.

 

 

Ban on titanium dioxide in food in Europe

 

As of May 6, 2021, EFSA no longer considers the use of titanium dioxide as a food additive to be safe, as it is not possible to invalidate the possible genotoxic effect caused by titanium dioxide (nano) particles after reviewing more than 200 topic-relevant in vitro and in vivo studies in animals. Also, the studies do not allow a conclusion on a correlation between certain properties of titanium dioxide (nano) particles (size, texture) and the outcome of the genotoxicity studies. It is not possible to define an acceptable daily intake level. The French food safety agency ANSES also criticizes the lack of data to declare the substance as clearly safe.

As a consequence, France has therefore become the first EU member to ban titanium dioxide as a food additive from January 1, 2020. Switzerland will follow with a ban at the end of 2021. However, titanium dioxide will continue to be permitted in products such as cosmetics, sunscreens and medicines. 

Conclusion

 

Titanium dioxide is an additive that is not essential and bears no relation to the potential risks. It is used exclusively to increase the visual appeal of a product and is thus merely a marketing tool.

For health and climate-related reasons, it is therefore recommended that titanium dioxide should not be added to medicines, skin care creams or groceries.

© Dr. med. Dipl. Biol. Susanne Saha 08/2021

Update from 16.10.2021:

On October 8, 2021, the EU Member States agreed to the European Commission's proposal to ban the use of titanium dioxide (E171) as an additive in food from 2022.

Update from 04.02.2022:

The European Union (EU) has adopted the ban on the use of titanium dioxide as a food additive (E171). It will come into force from February 7, 2022, and will be binding from August 7, 2022. Manufacturers will be required to replace titanium dioxide in medicines with excipients within the next three years. Before April 1st, 2024, the European Medicines Agency (EMA) will carry out a further evaluation of titanium dioxide.

bottom of page

Titandioxid
Optischer Aufheller mit Gesundheitsrisiko

Titandioxid ist ein Farbpigment, welches von allen Weißpigmenten die höchste Deckungskraft besitzt. Es ist chemisch stabil und gilt als ungiftig.

 

In der Medizin wird es als reiner optischer Farbgeber mit der INCI (International Nomenclature of Cosmetic Ingredients) Bezeichnung CI 77891 für Tabletten, Cremes,  Kosmetika sowie in Sonnencremes als mineralischer UV-Filter verwendet.

Als farbgebender Lebensmittelzusatzstoff E171 wird es zum Beispiel in Bonbons, Kaugummis, Zahnpasta, Mozzarella sowie als weißes Farbpigment in Süßwaren und Überzügen zugesetzt.  90 % des Titandioxids werden im industriellen Bereich werden zur Herstellung von Farben, Lacken, Papier und Kunststoffen genutzt.

 

Titandioxid entsteht aus Titan, dem vierthäufigsten Metall weltweit. Reagiert es mit Sauerstoff entsteht Titandioxid (TiO2). Da reines Titan auf der Erde kaum vorkommt, muss es energieaufwändig und kostenintensiv aus Titaneisenerz gewonnen werden. Der Herstellungsprozess führt also zur Emission von Treibhausgasen und ist klimarelevant. Alleine in Deutschland werden ca. 550.000 Tonnen Titandioxid pro Jahr als Mikropartikel (Partikel über 100 nm) oder Nanopartikel (Teilchen unter 100 nm) produziert. Das entspricht einem Gesamtanteil von 10 % am Weltmarkt. Nano-Titandioxide gehören zu den häufigsten produzierten Nanopartikeln.

Aufnahme von Titandioxid über die Haut

 

2010 kam eine Studie zu dem Schluss, dass die Aufnahme von Nanopartikeln durch die Haut von der Partikelgröße bestimmt wird und dass dies vom Gesundheitszustand der Haut abhängt. Zur Aufnahme von Titandioxid Partikel durch Tätowierungen konnte hingegen bisher noch keine Aussage getroffen werden.

Aufnahme von Titandioxid über den Magen-Darm Trakt

In einer Studie des Universitätsspitals Zürich 2016 wurde am Mausmodell gezeigt, dass Titandioxid-(Nano)-Partikel als Lebensmittelzusatzstoff E171 unter 100 nm bei Mäusen mit einer entzündlichen Darmerkrankung zu einem Anstieg von weiteren Entzündungen und Schädigungen der Darmschleimhaut führte. Die Züricher Wissenschaftler empfahlen daher Patienten mit Darmentzündungen, auf Nahrungsmittel zu verzichten, die Titandioxid enthalten. Französische Forscher zeigten zudem 2017 auch an Ratten, dass die Einnahme von E171 in Nanopartikelform Darmentzündungen hervorrufen kann und weiterhin dem Immunsystem schadet.

Zum krebserzeugenden Potenzial von Titandioxid-(Nano)-Partikeln nach oraler Exposition sind bisher keine geeigneten Studien verfügbar. Da der Abbau von Titandioxid im Gewebe lange dauert, hat es jedoch das Potential zu akkumulieren, was zu der Annahme führt, dass durch die Anreicherung Tumoren entstehen können. Die Datenbank der Europäischen Chemikalienagentur (ECHA) führt Titandioxid daher als mögliche krebserregende Substanz auf.

Derzeit lässt sich laut Bundesinstitut für Risikobewertung (BfR) nicht beurteilen, ob die Bewertung der Europäischen Behörde für Lebensmittelsicherheit (EFSA) zu E171 auch auf Titandioxid-Partikel (CI 77891) in Zahnpasta als Kosmetikartikel übertragbar ist und hat daher weitere Untersuchungen empfohlen.

Aufnahme von Titandioxid über die Lunge

 

Der Wissenschaftliche Ausschuss für Verbrauchersicherheit (SCCS) stellt fest, dass die Verwendung von Titandioxid in Pulverform in Externa, aufgrund der aktuellen Datenlage und der möglichen Einstufung von Titandioxid gemäß CLP-Verordnung als Karzinogen Kategorie 2 (Inhalation) für allgemeine Verbraucher nicht sicher ist, wenn es eingeatmet wird.

 

In Sonnencremes werden Titandioxid-(Nano)-Partikel zur Verhinderung des Weißungseffektes als mineralischer UV-Schutz zugesetzt. Bereits definierte Nanopartikelformen, die zur Exposition in die Lunge führen könnten sind hier nicht zugelassen. Eine abschließende Einschätzung der Exposition durch Nano-Partikel sowie die daraus resultierende erforderliche Änderung der EU-Kosmetikverordnung steht jedoch noch aus. Zum 9. September 2021 müssen EU-weit feste und flüssige kosmetische Produkte sowie Sprays, die mindestens 1% Titandioxid enthalten, gesondert mit Warnhinweisen versehen werden. Ein Verbot erfolgt jedoch nicht.

 

 

Verbot von Titandioxid in Lebensmitteln in Europa

 

Seit dem 6. Mai 2021 hält die EFSA die Verwendung von Titandioxid als Lebensmittelzusatzstoff nicht mehr für sicher, da eine Entkräftung der möglichen erbgutschädigenden Wirkung durch Titandioxid-(Nano)-Partikeln nach Sichtung von mehr als 200 themenrelevanten in vitro- und in vivo-Studien an Tieren nicht möglich ist. Auch lassen die Studien keinen Rückschluss auf einen Zusammenhang zwischen bestimmten Eigenschaften von Titandioxid-(Nano)-Partikeln (Größe, Beschaffenheit) und dem Ergebnis der Genotoxizitätsstudien zu. Es ist nicht möglich eine akzeptable tägliche Aufnahmemenge zu definieren. Auch die französische Agentur für Lebensmittelsicherheit ANSES kritisiert, dass es an Daten fehle, um den Stoff als eindeutig unbedenklich zu deklarieren.

Als Konsequenz hat Frankreich Titandioxid daher als erstes EU-Mitglied ab 1. Januar 2020 als Lebensmittelzusatzstoff verboten. Die Schweiz wird mit einem Verbot Ende 2021 folgen. In Produkten wie Kosmetika, Sonnencreme oder Medikamenten bleibt Titandioxid jedoch weiterhin erlaubt. 

Update vom 16.10.2021:

Die EU-Mitgliedstaaten haben am 08.10.2021 dem Vorschlag der Europäischen Kommission zugestimmt, die Verwendung von Titandioxid (E171) als Zusatzstoff in Lebensmitteln ab 2022 zu verbieten.

 

Fazit

 

Bei Titandioxid handelt sich um einen Zusatzstoff, der nicht essenziell ist und in keinem Verhältnis zu den potentiellen Risiken steht. Es dient ausschließlich zur Erhöhung der optischen Attraktivität eines Produkts und stellt damit lediglich ein Marketing-Tool dar.

Aus gesundheitlichen und klimarelevanten Aspekten wird daher empfohlen auf den Zusatz von Titandioxid im Bereich der Arzneien, Pflegecremes sowie in Lebensmitteln grundsätzlich zu verzichten.

© Dr. med. Dipl. Biol. Susanne Saha 08/2021