top of page

Forgotten: Synthetic polymers

Alongside microplastics, which by definition are solid plastic particles measuring up to 5 mm, synthetic polymers constitute another form of plastic used in cosmetics and care products such as shampoos and shower gels as exfoliating, thickening and binding agents. The artificially produced polymers occur in liquid, gel or wax-like form, and are chains consisting of constantly repeating chemical units. Many are based on petroleum-based raw materials, i.e. crude oil and natural gas. Unlike biological polymers such as cellulose, gelatine or starch, they are very weakly biodegradable or non-biodegradable, enter wastewater almost in their entirety and therefore possibly accumulate in the environment in the same way as microplastics. Their share is estimated to be 50 times greater than the corresponding proportion of microplastics.

 

To date, no negative effects on health and the environment from synthetic polymers are known. The reason for this is that there are almost no studies on these substances. For some substances, insufficient information is available from the ECHA (European Chemicals Agency).

Consequently, until now synthetic polymers, unlike microplastics, have not been the focus of discussion. Most of these compounds are not subject to compulsory registration under REACH, the EU Chemicals Regulation, because they are not present in solid form. In the UMSICHT study, this is explained by the fact that the hazards potentially originating from synthetic polymers must first be confirmed by studies in order to be included in the list of chemicals requiring regulation. This ignores the fact that many of these substances are not biodegradable. Synthetic polymers are therefore described in the study as underregulated.

 

In September 2019, the government of the state of Hesse submitted the proposal Avoiding liquid and dissolved plastics – For a comprehensive strategy to reduce poorly degradable polymers” to the upper house of the German parliament (Bundesrat). This proposal was approved by the Bundesrat’s environmental committee and European affairs committee, but rejected by its economic committee. The federal state of Hesse then withdrew its motion.

 

The  best known synthetic polymers, which in some cases can also be found in topical preparations, include:

 

​​​© Dr. med. Dipl. Biol. Susanne Saha 04/2021

bottom of page

Vergessen: Synthetische Polymere

Synthetische Polymere stellen neben Mikroplastik, die definitionsgemäß feste Kunststoffpartikel bis 5 mm sind, eine weitere Form von Kunststoffen dar, die in Kosmetika und Pflegeprodukten wie z. B. Schampoos und Duschgelen als Peeling-, Verdickungs- und Bindemittel verwendet werden. Die künstlich hergestellten Polymere kommen in flüssiger, gel- oder wachsartiger Form vor und sind Ketten, die aus sich stets wiederholenden chemischen Einheiten bestehen. Viele von Ihnen basieren auf petrobasierten Rohstoffen, also Erdöl und Erdgas. Sie sind – im Gegensatz zu den biologischen Polymeren wie z. B. Zellulose, Gelatine oder Stärke – nur sehr schwer bis gar nicht biologisch abbaubar, gelangen nahezu vollständig ins Abwasser und akkumulieren daher möglicherweise ebenso in der Umwelt wie Mikroplastik. Ihr Anteil  wird um Faktor 50 mal größer, als der entsprechende Anteil Mikroplastik geschätzt. 

 

Bisher sind keine negativen Auswirkungen auf die Gesundheit und Umwelt durch synthetische Polymere bekannt. Der Grund: Es gibt kaum Studien zu diesen Stoffen. Zu vereinzelten Stoffen sind bei ECHA (European Chemicals Agency) keine ausreichenden Informationen zu finden.

Synthetische Polymere standen daher bisher, im Gegensatz zu Mikroplastik, nicht im Fokus der Diskussion. Die meisten dieser Verbindungen sind unter REACH, der EU-Chemikalienverordnung, nicht registrierungspflichtig, da sie nicht in fester Form vorliegen. In der UMSICHT-Studie wird dies mit dem Umstand erklärt, dass die von synthetischen Polymeren möglicherweise ausgehenden Gefahren erst durch Studien belegt werden müssen, um in die Liste der zu regulierenden Chemikalien aufgenommen zu werden. Dabei würde die Tatsache außer Acht gelassen, dass viele dieser Stoffe nicht biologisch abbaubar seien. Synthetische Polymere werden daher in der Studie als unterreguliert bezeichnet.

 

Im September 2019 stellte die Hessische Landesregierung den Antrag „Flüssiges und gelöstes Plastik vermeiden – Für eine umfassende Strategie zur Reduktion schwer abbaubarer Polymere“ an den Bundesrat. Dieser Antrag wurde vom Umweltausschuss und dem Europaausschuss des Bundesrates befürwortet, vom Wirtschaftsausschuss des Bundesrates hingegen abgelehnt. Das Bundesland Hessen zog daraufhin seinen Antrag wieder zurück.

 

Zu den bekanntesten synthetischen Polymeren, welche zum Teil auch in Externa zu finden sind, gehören:

 

​​​© Dr. med. Dipl. Biol. Susanne Saha 04/2021