top of page
Elephant%20Ear%20Coral%209%3A16_edited.j

Product samples

Every day, product samples from different “cosmeceuticals” manufacturers are distributed in doctors’ surgeries and clinics.

Cosmeceuticals, a term newly coined from the words “cosmetics” and “pharmaceuticals”, contain the maximum possible concentration of active substances permitted before the product is classed as a medicinal product. As a result, they have a higher efficacy profile than conventional care products. 

While these products do make it possible to offer patients several skin care alternatives, they are also problematic for the environment and add a cost factor for the surgery.

The environmental factor

Frequently, boxes packaged in plastic film are delivered that contain several samples and in some cases recommendation pads. Each mini-outer package contains a small tube that usually consists of two different types of plastic (cap and tube). Many of the product samples contain a maximum of 5 to 7 ml; in some cases the contents are a mix with microplastic of varying chemical composition. Some contain substances suspected as endocrine disruptors, for example or of being toxic to aquatic organisms. The energy-intensive production of the plastic tubes also causes the greenhouse gas carbon dioxide to be released.

It can be assumed that on any given day, thousands of samples are distributed to patients by doctors of various specialisations as well as pharmacists. Not all samples are tried by patients. What is more, many of the tubes and sachets remain in the surgery and clinic cupboards beyond their expiry dates and medical staff must sort through and discard them. The various types of packaging are probably rarely separated by surgeries or by consumers, which prevents the recovery of recyclable plastics at waste processing plants. Consequently, in Germany alone, several tonnes of waste requiring incineration accumulate every day from product samples. We can also assume that some of the samples enter the environment as a result of excursions or travel, or are disposed of in countries that do not have a suitable waste disposal or recycling system.

The cost factor

In rented properties, product samples take up storage space and thus occupy usable areas that generate rental costs. They necessitate work by medical staff in the form of accepting deliveries, storage, sorting and disposal. The resulting ongoing use of working time is then no longer available to a surgery, clinic or pharmacy for other tasks, but staff must still be remunerated. In addition, the amount of waste generated increases hugely as a result of product samples and outer packaging. Since in most local authorities and towns the fees for refuse are based on the volume of waste that arises, this is reflected in the costs payable.

​​

© Dr. med. Dipl. Biol. Susanne Saha 06/2021

bottom of page

Elephant%20Ear%20Coral%209%3A16_edited.j

Produktproben

Täglich werden Produktproben unterschiedlicher Hersteller von sogenannten „Cosmoceuticals“ in den Praxen und Kliniken verteilt.

Cosmoceuticals, eine Wortschöpfung aus „cosmetics“ (Kosmetik) und „pharmaceuticals“ (Medikament), enthalten die höchstmögliche Konzentration an Wirkstoffen, die zugelassen sind, bevor sie als Arzneimittel eingestuft werden. Sie haben dadurch ein höheres Wirkprofil als herkömmliche Pflegeprodukte. 

Geben diese Proben einerseits die Möglichkeit, Patient*innen mehrere Alternativen zur Pflege ihrer Haut anbieten zu können, sind sie auf der anderen Seite problematisch für die Umwelt und stellen zudem einen Kostenfaktor für die Praxis dar.

Der Umweltfaktor

Häufig werden in Plastikfolie verpackte Kartons abgegeben, die mehrere Proben und in manchen Fällen Empfehlungsblöcke enthalten. Jede kleine Mini-Umverpackung beinhaltet ein Tübchen, welches meist aus zwei verschiedenen Kunststoffarten (Deckel und Tube) besteht. Viele der Produktproben enthalten maximal 5 bis 7 ml Inhalt, teilweise versetzt mit Mikroplastik unterschiedlicher chemischer Zusammensetzung, Manche von Ihnen enthalten Stoffe, die z.B. im Verdacht stehen, hormonaktiv oder toxisch auf aquatische Organismen zu wirken. Die energieaufwändige Produktion der Plastiktübchen setzt zudem das Treibhausgas Kohlendioxid frei.

Es ist davon auszugehen, dass am Tag tausende Proben an Patient*innen von Ärzt*innen unterschiedlicher Fachrichtungen sowie Apotheker*innen verteilt werden. Nicht alle Proben werden von Patient*innen ausprobiert. Viele der Tübchen und Sachets verbleiben zudem über das Haltbarkeitsdatum hinaus in den Praxis- und Klinikschränken und müssen von medizinischen Fachkräften durchsortiert und verworfen werden. Es ist wahrscheinlich, dass die unterschiedlichen Verpackungsarten selten durch Praxen und Verbraucher*innen getrennt werden, was in Müllverwertungsanlagen die Rückgewinnung recyclingfähiger Kunststoffe verhindert. Allein in Deutschland fallen durch Produktproben daher täglich mehrere Tonnen Verbrennungsmüll an. Auch ist anzunehmen, dass ein Teil der Proben durch Ausflüge und Reisen in die Umwelt gelangt oder in Ländern entsorgt werden, die kein geeignetes Abfallentsorgungs- oder Recyclingsystem besitzen.

Der Kostenfaktor

In angemieteten Objekten belegen Produktproben Stauraum und verbrauchen damit Nutzfläche, die Mietkosten generiert. Sie erfordern die Arbeitskraft medizinischer Fachkräfte zur Annahme, Einlagerung, Sortierung und Entsorgung. Der dadurch entstandene kontinuierliche Arbeitszeitverbrauch steht einer Praxis, Klinik oder Apotheke nicht mehr für andere Tätigkeiten zur Verfügung und muss dennoch entlohnt werden. Auch wird das Abfallaufkommen durch Produktproben und Umverpackungen immens gesteigert. Da sich die Abfallgebühren in den meisten Kommunen und Städten an der Höhe des Müllaufkommens orientieren, spiegelt sich dies in den zu entrichtenden Kosten wider.

© Dr. med. Dipl. Biol. Susanne Saha 06/2021