top of page

Plastic causes climate change

Plastic is a petroleum-based raw material; approximately 16% of the world's oil and natural gas is currently consumed every day in producing this artificial material. The Heinrich-Böll Foundation estimates that carbon dioxide (CO2) caused emissions of 1781 million tonnes in 2015 alone. Global plastic production accounts for 10-13% of the total maximum CO2 budget that can be consumed in order to limit man-made global warming to 1.5 degrees.

CO2 and the oceans

Around 400 million tonnes of plastic of various compositions are produced worldwide every year. According to estimates, approximately one third of this is disposed of in the environment. A large part ends up in the ocean and forms five large plastic whirlpools with a diameter of 1.6 square kilometres (as of 2018).

It is assumed that the increasing amount of microplastics in the oceans, which is produced by the breakdown of plastic, disrupts biological processes; these processes are a key component in the process, by which plankton at the sea surface binds CO2 through photosynthesis. Known as the biological carbon pump, this process is central to the ocean's role as a carbon sink and contributes significantly to a stable Earth climate.

As a result of natural death processes, the plankton secretes the CO2 again when it sinks to the sea floor. The sometimes highly toxic effect of microplastics results in a higher death rate of the plankton and thus to an increased release of CO2 into the atmosphere.

Currently, more than half of the CO2 produced annually by humans is stored in the ocean. Current research is addressing questions about the amount and how storage could change in the future.

Decomposition of plastic produces methane

According to a study by the University of Hawaii in August 2018, UV light promotes the decomposition of plastic in the environment, releasing methane and ethylene. Methane (CH4) is one of the most significant greenhouse gases and is 21 times more potent than CO2.

Investigations into various types of plastic have shown that the majority of methane was produced by plastic particles of low density polyethylene (LDPE), a variant of polyethylene (PE). Methane emissions increased the longer the plastic particles were irradiated by UV light. UV light evidently acts as a catalyst, as methane production, once triggered, no longer requires UV light to continue.

LDPE and PE are the most commonly produced materials in the world and are used in dispenser bottles, wash bottles, hoses, plastic bags, worktops and plastic sheeting, among other products.

Recycling and reduction of plastic production represent important goals worldwide for reducing emissions of the anthropogenic greenhouse gases CO2 and methane.

© Dr. med. Dipl. Biol. Susanne Saha 05/2021

Related links:

>> Plastic & Climate: The Hidden Costs of a Plastic Planet <<

>> Informationen zum Klimaschutz in Praxen (KLUG e.V.) <<

Update November 2021:

Beyond Plastics at Bennington College - The new coal: Plastics & Climate Change

bottom of page

Plastik verursacht Klimawandel

Plastik ist ein petrobasierter und damit künstlich geschaffener Rohstoff, für den aktuell weltweit täglich ca. 16% Erdöl- und Erdgas verbraucht werden. Die Heinrich-Böll-Stiftung schätzt, dass durch Kohlendioxid (CO2) allein 2015 Emissionen in Höhe von 1.781 Mio. Tonnen verursacht wurden. Die weltweite Kunststoffproduktion macht 10-13% des gesamten CO2-Budgets aus, das maximal verbraucht werden darf, um die menschengemachte Erderwärmung auf 1,5-Grad zu beschränken.

CO2 und der Ozean

Weltweit werden jährlich ca. 400 Mio. Tonnen Plastik unterschiedlichster Zusammensetzung produziert. Schätzungen zufolge, wird davon ca. ein Drittel in der Umwelt entsorgt. Ein Großteil landet im Ozean und bildet 5 große Plastikstrudel von 1,6 Quadratkilometern Durchmesser (Stand 2018).

Es wird angenommen, dass die zunehmende Menge an Mikroplastik in den Meeren, die durch den Zerfall von Plastik entsteht, biologische Prozesse stören, mit deren Hilfe Plankton an der Meeresoberfläche CO2 durch Photosynthese bindet. Dieser Prozess, biologische Kohlenstoffpumpe genannt, hat eine zentrale Bedeutung für die Rolle des Ozeans als sogenannte Kohlenstoffsenke und trägt wesentlich zu einem stabilen Erdklima bei.

Durch natürliche Absterbeprozesse sondert das Plankton beim Absinken auf den Meeresgrund das CO2 wieder ab. Die zum Teil hochtoxische Wirkung von Mikroplastik führt zum vermehrtem Absterben des Planktons und damit zu einer erhöhten Abgabe von CO2 in die Atmosphäre.

Aktuell ist im Ozean mehr als die Hälfte des jährlich durch Menschen produzierten CO2 gespeichert. Aussagen über die Menge und wie sich die Speicherung zukünftig ändert könnte sind Gegenstand der Forschung.

Zerfall von Plastik verursacht Methan

Laut einer Studie der Universität Hawaii vom August 2018 begünstigt UV-Licht den Zerfall von Plastik in der Umwelt und setzt dadurch Methan und Ethylen frei. Methan (CH4) gehört zu den bedeutendsten Treibhausgasen und ist 21-mal wirkungsvoller als CO2.

Die Untersuchungen an verschiedenen Kunststoffarten zeigten, dass das meiste Methan durch Kunststoffpartikel von Low density polyethylene (LDPE), einer Variante des Polyethylens (PE), produziert wurde. Die Methan-Emissionen stiegen an, je länger die Kunststoffpartikel durch UV-Licht bestrahlt wurden. Dabei wirkt UV-Licht offensichtlich als Katalysator, da die Methanproduktion einmal angestoßen kein UV-Licht mehr benötigt, um weiterhin stattzufinden.

LDPE und PE wird weltweit am häufigsten hergestellt und findet unter anderem Verwendung in Spenderflaschen, Waschflaschen, Schläuchen, Plastiktüten, Arbeitsflächen und Plastikfolien.

Recycling und Reduktion der Plastikproduktion stellen weltweit ein wichtiges Ziel zur Einsparung von Emissionen der anthropogen verursachten Treibhausgase CO2 und Methan dar.

© Dr. med. Dipl. Biol. Susanne Saha 05/2021

Weiterführende Links:

>> Plastic & Climate: The Hidden Costs of a Plastic Planet <<

>> Informationen zum Klimaschutz in Praxen (KLUG e.V.) <<