top of page

Paraffins - Petroleum in cosmetics

Personal care paraffins, also known as mineral oils, are a by-product of petroleum processing and are formed from unpurified industrial paraffins. Purified paraffins are contained in liquid or solid form in numerous personal care products as binders in creams, ointments, pastes, lotions, cosmetics and other medical products because they have film-forming, protective and water-repellent properties. They do not cause allergies, are very well tolerated dermally and are inexpensive.

Paraffins harm the environment

 

In the production of lubricating oil, crude paraffins are distilled from crude oil in an energy-intensive process or extracted from lignite or bituminous shale and peat coal. Paraffin production thus contributes to increasing greenhouse gas emissions worldwide.

 

In daily use, they enter the water cycle because they cannot be filtered by sewage treatment plants. However, they can be degraded by bacteria and do not remain permanently in the environment. The duration of degradation is unclear.

In recent years, large clumps of industrial paraffins have increasingly washed up on beaches, presumably from ship washings from chemical freighters. The discharge of paraffin and paraffin-like substances into the sea has so far been internationally regulated, but not banned. The problem is that paraffin lumps are mistaken for food by marine animals and seabirds. Furthermore, since these chunks have a low degree of purity, they contain carcinogenic substances such as polycyclic aromatic hydrocarbons (see MOAH below), which can be ingested by swimmers and marine animals. The German Federal Office for Risk Research (BfR) therefore considers "a general ban on discharges of such buoyant substances as paraffin into the North Sea and Baltic Sea to be absolutely necessary".

Discussion of health-damaging properties

During the processing of crude paraffin, two other paraffin components are formed in addition to pure paraffin:

  • aromatized mineral oils, in short MOAH (mineral oil aromatic hydrocarbons) and

  • saturated mineral oil hydrocarbons, or MOSH (mineral oil saturated hydrocarbons).

 

In 2015, Stiftung Warentest found that MOAH was present in 25 out of 25 conventional cosmetic and personal care products tested. MOAH is strongly suspected of being carcinogenic. Three years later, in a February 2018 statement, the German Federal Institute for Risk Research (BfR) discusses the analytical methodology of MOSH and MOAH in products. The BfR concludes that only the two-step analytical methodology introduced in 2017 led to a significantly better quantification of MOAH, as this was obviously overestimated in the previous one-step procedure and thus led to falsely high MOAH levels in products.

MOSH, on the other hand, is present as an impurity in some lip balms. When applied, a part enters the body through oral uptake and accumulates in the organs. According to the BfR, a toxicological relevance for humans, as observed in a study on rats is doubtful.

Paraffins with a high degree of purity, which are used for cosmetics or as a component of medicinal products, are classified overall by the European Commission and the BfR as non-carcinogenic.

In 2015, the BfR admitted that there are "data gaps that make a health assessment difficult. These concern, among other things, data on uptake via the skin after prolonged contact, on oral bioavailability and on the relevance of histopathological liver changes (microgranulomas), which occurred in animal experiments in a particularly sensitive strain of rats after feeding corresponding preparations (...) Little is also currently known about the effect and presence of aromatic hydrocarbons (MOAH) in cosmetic products. An overall assessment is hampered not least by data gaps concerning the composition of the mineral oil mixtures used in the cosmetics industry."

The use of paraffin-containing topicals is well established in dermatology and other medical specialties. The widespread use in conventional and over-the-counter products should definitely be reconsidered, also for reasons of climate protection.

 

 

Types of paraffin in skin care products and cosmetics

 

Depending on its chemical composition and method of manufacture, paraffin appears in lists of ingredients on products under the following names:

  • Paraffinum liquidum

  • Petroleum or petrolatum

  • Isoparaffin

  • Ceresin

  • Vaseline (Microcrystalline Wax)

  • Cera Microcristallina

  • Mineral wax or mineral oil

  • Ozokerite

© Dr. med. Dipl. Biol. Susanne Saha 06/2021

bottom of page

Paraffine - Erdöl in Kosmetik

Paraffine für die Körperpflege, auch als Mineralöle bezeichnet, sind ein Nebenprodukt der Erdölaufbereitung und entstehen aus ungereinigten Industrieparaffinen. Gereinigte Paraffine sind in flüssiger oder fester Form in zahlreichen Körperpflegeprodukten als Bindemittel in Cremes, Salben, Pasten, Lotionen, Kosmetika und weiteren Medizinprodukten enthalten, da sie filmbildende, schützende und wasserabweisende Eigenschaften haben. Sie lösen keine Allergien aus, sind dermal sehr gut verträglich und sind preisgünstig.

Paraffine schädigen die Umwelt

 

Rohparaffine werden bei der Schmierölproduktion energieaufwändig aus Erdöl destilliert oder aus Braunkohle oder bituminösen Schiefern sowie Torfkohlen gewonnen. Damit leistet die Paraffinproduktion ihren Beitrag zur Erhöhung von Treibhausgasemissionen weltweit.

 

Beim täglichen Gebrauch gelangen sie, da nicht durch Klärwerke filterbar, in den Wasserkreislauf. Sie können jedoch von Bakterien abgebaut werden und verbleiben nicht dauerhaft in der Umwelt. Die Abbaudauer ist unklar.

In den letzten Jahren werden vermehrt große Klumpen von Industrieparaffinen an die Strände gespült, die vermutlich aus Schiffswaschungen von Chemiefrachtern stammen. Das Einleiten von Paraffin und paraffinähnlichen Stoffen ins Meer ist bisher international geregelt, aber nicht verboten. Problematisch ist, dass Paraffinbrocken von Meerestieren und Seevögeln mit Nahrung verwechselt werden. Weiterhin enthalten diese Brocken, da sie einen geringen Reinheitsgrad aufweisen, krebserregende Substanzen wie polyzyklische aromatische Kohlenwasserstoffe (s. u. MOAH), die von Badegästen und Meerestieren aufgenommen werden können. Das Bundesamt für Risikoforschung (BfR) hält daher „ein generelles Verbot der Einleitungen solcher aufschwimmender Stoffe wie Paraffin in Nord- und Ostsee für unbedingt notwendig“.

Diskussion gesundheitsschädigender Eigenschaften

Während des Verarbeitungsprozesses von Rohparaffin entstehen neben reinem Paraffin zwei weitere Paraffin-Bestandteile:

  • aromatisierte Mineralöle, kurz MOAH (mineral oil saturated hydrocarbons) und

  • gesättigte Mineralölkohlenwasserstoffe, kurz MOSH (mineral oil aromatic hydrocarbons)

 

2015 stellte die Stiftung Warentest fest, dass sich in 25 von 25 getesteten herkömmlichen Kosmetik- und Pflegeprodukten MOAH befand. MOAH steht in dringendem Verdacht, krebserregend zu sein. Drei Jahre später, in einer Stellungnahme vom Februar 2018, diskutiert das Bundesinstitut für Risikoforschung (BfR) die Analysemethodik  von MOSH und MOAH in Produkten. Das BfR  kommt zum Schluss, dass erst die 2017 eingeführte zweistufige Analysemethodik zu einer signifikant besseren Quantifizierung von MOAH geführt habe, da diese offensichtlich im früheren einstufigen Verfahren überbewertet wurde und somit zu falsch hohen MOAH Werten in Produkten geführt habe.

MOSH hingegen ist als Verunreinigung in manchen Lippenpflegestiften enthalten. Beim Auftragen gelangt ein Teil durch orale Aufnahme in den Körper und reichert sich in den Organen an. Eine toxikologische Relevanz sei, wie in einer Studie an Ratten beobachtet, laut BfR für Menschen zweifelhaft.

Paraffine mit hohem Reinheitsgrad, welche für Kosmetika oder als Bestandteil von Arzneimitteln verwendet werden, werden insgesamt durch die Europäische Kommission und den BfR als nicht krebserregend eingestuft.

Das BfR räumte 2015 ein, es bestünden „Datenlücken, die eine gesundheitliche Bewertung erschweren. Diese betreffen u. a. Daten zur Aufnahme über die Haut nach lang andauerndem Kontakt, zur oralen Bioverfügbarkeit und zur Relevanz histopathologischer Leberveränderungen (Mikrogranulome), die im Tierversuch bei einem besonders sensitiven Rattenstamm nach Fütterung entsprechender Präparate auftraten (…) Auch zur Wirkung und zum Vorhandensein von aromatischen Kohlenwasserstoffen (MOAH) in kosmetischen Mitteln ist derzeit wenig bekannt. Eine Gesamtbewertung wird nicht zuletzt durch Datenlücken bezüglich der Zusammensetzung der in der Kosmetikindustrie verwendeten Mineralölgemische erschwert“.

Die Verwendung von paraffinhaltigen Externa ist in der Dermatologie und anderen medizinischen Fachbereichen etabliert. Die breite Anwendung in herkömmlichen und frei verkäuflichen Produkten sollte auch aus Gründen des Klimaschutzes unbedingt überdacht werden.

 

 

Paraffinarten in Pflegeprodukten und Kosmetika

 

Je nach seiner chemischen Zusammensetzung und Herstellungsart taucht Paraffin unter  folgenden Namen in den Listen von Inhaltsstoffen auf Produkten auf:

  • Paraffinum liquidum

  • Petroleum oder Petrolatum

  • Isoparaffin

  • Ceresin

  • Vaseline (Microcrystalline Wax)

  • Cera Microcristallina

  • Mineralwachs oder Mineralöl

  • Ozokeritem

© Dr. med. Dipl. Biol. Susanne Saha 06/2021