top of page

Status quo of disinfection:
Safety for users and the environment

The most important foundation of medicine is the high standard of hygiene, the central importance of which becomes particularly apparent in times of pandemics and with the increasing development of microbial resistance. In the healthcare sector, infection prevention serves to ensure patient safety and protect employees, while in companies it serves to ensure product and consumer safety. Hygiene plans adapted to the respective institution are legally binding in Austria and Germany and require the use of effective disinfectants. Considering the large number of institutions in the health care sector and extending this to the manufacturing food industry and pharmaceutical companies, correspondingly high quantities of disinfectants are indispensable for or before certain work steps.

At first glance, chemical disinfection and environmental protection seem to be two diametrically opposed areas. Substances that specifically eliminate microorganisms for the protection of humans can also kill environmentally relevant microbes of various kinds via wastewater. In addition, some disinfectants contain molecules, such as environmentally stable aldehydes or quaternary ammonium compounds (quats), which accumulate in the environment and, depending on their concentration, can have long-term toxic effects on aquatic organisms.

Focus on hand disinfection

 

Hand washing is often assumed to be the more skin-friendly version and disinfectants the more "aggressive" measure of hand hygiene. However, during the pandemic in particular, it was shown that excessive hand washing with soap damages the skin barrier and thus promotes the development of irritative-toxic hand eczema. Consequently, hand disinfection is preferable to frequent washing. Unlike surface disinfection, however, skin-compatible active ingredients must be used, as only these are tolerated by the user on a correspondingly regular basis. A central element of infection prevention is the widespread availability of hand disinfectants which guarantee comprehensive protection against infection while at the same time ensuring a high level of environmental compatibility.

Products containing sodium hypochlorite (NaOCl) are advertised as "particularly gentle, biological and natural". However, this active ingredient is highly toxic and chemically reactive. It is a surface disinfectant. It is not approved for hand disinfection in most countries.

Chemically pure alcohols - propanol or ethanol - in high concentrations, on the other hand, exhibit broad efficacy against bacteria, fungi and, in some cases, viruses by immediately and irreversibly denaturing and thus destroying the proteins of the microorganisms.

The alcohols are very well tolerated on intact skin and show three main advantages: they act very quickly, dry within 15-30 seconds without leaving residues, and show no harmful or irritating residues for humans or the environment. The development of resistance to propanol or ethanol can be ruled out.

Skin degreasing is prevented by skin care additives such as dexpanthenol and vitamin E. They are harmless to the skin. They are harmless to the environment, whereas glycerin is produced in an energy-intensive petrochemical process, i.e. is petroleum-based.

In particular, the benefits of ingredients declared as "remanent active ingredients" (e.g. chlorhexidine, triclosan, mecetronium ethyl sulfate, orthophenylphenol), i.e. active ingredients remaining on the skin, must be critically questioned.

For chlorhexidine, for example, bacterial resistance formation, induction of cross-resistance to reserve antibiotics as well as skin irritations and anaphylaxis have been described. In addition, the molecule remains stable in wastewater. Triclosan can also cause contact allergies and is highly toxic to aquatic organisms. In 2016, it was therefore banned in the U.S. as an environmental and health hazard in rinse-off hand and body cleansing products.

The Commission for Hospital Hygiene and Infection Prevention (KRINKO) therefore advises against: "Preparations with added antimicrobial remanent active ingredients are not recommended, as their addition does not improve efficacy but increases the risk of side effects."

Focus surface disinfection

For the disinfection of surfaces and instruments in particular, numerous parameters such as material compatibility, the required exposure time and/or the required spectrum of activity must be taken into account.

Internationally, there is a trend towards biodegradable cleaning agents, such as the use of enzymes. Furthermore, disinfectant wipes made of sustainable materials, which until now have often been made of PET (polyethylene terephthalate) or PP (polypropylene), are increasingly being offered. For the professional sector, surface disinfection products based on peracetic acid (PAA) - which decomposes into oxygen, water and vinegar after use - or active oxygen are increasingly being developed. They have a particularly high performance spectrum (virucidal, sporicidal), are well compatible with many materials and leave no long-lasting toxic residues.

A valuable sustainable addition would be the prompt switch to upcyclable or recyclable disinfectant containers for hand and surface disinfection and their return by the manufacturers.

Disinfectant databases

Vienna Disinfectant Database (Wiener Desinfektionsmittel-Datenbank WIDES-database), Austria

Transparent presentation (in German and English) of the hazard potentials of commercially available disinfectants. Enables the selection of a disinfectant that poses the least risk to staff, patients and the environment.

 

Society for Hygiene, Microbiology and Preventive Medicine (ÖGHMP), Austria

For routine disinfection measures in the field of human medicine.

 

Robert Koch Institute (RKI), Germany

List of tested and approved disinfectants and disinfection procedures for officially ordered disinfection in the human area.

 

Disinfectant Commission of the Association for Applied Hygiene (Verbund für Angewandte Hygiene VAH), Germany

For routine disinfection measures in the human medical field.

 

Industrial Association for Hygiene and Surface Protection (Industrieverband Hygiene und Oberflächenschutz IHO), Germany

Tested in accordance with the EU Biocide Regulation, efficacy proven by expert opinion. The listed biocidal products cover the human sector, veterinary sector and food production.

 

Biocide database of the European Chemicals Agency (ECHA)

Listing of active substances tested and approved in accordance with the requirements of the Biocides Regulation.

© OÄ Dr. med. univ. Mahitab Khalifa-Paruch, Vienna, 11/2021

bottom of page

Status quo der Desinfektion:
Sicherheit für Anwender und Umwelt

Das wichtigste Fundament der Medizin ist der hohe Hygienestandard, dessen zentrale Bedeutung besonders in Zeiten der Pandemie und bei zunehmender mikrobieller Resistenzentwicklung sichtbar wird. Im Gesundheitswesen dient die Infektions-prävention der Patientensicherheit und dem Schutz der MitarbeiterInnen, in Unternehmen der Produkt- und Konsumentensicherheit. An die jeweilige Einrichtung adaptierten Hygienepläne sind in Österreich und Deutschland rechtlich verpflichtend und bedingen den Einsatz wirksamer Desinfektionsmittel. Bedenkt man die große Anzahl an Institutionen des Gesundheitsbereiches und erweitert diese um die produzierende Lebensmittelindustrie sowie pharmazeutischen Betriebe, sind entsprechend hohe Mengen an Desinfektionsmittel für oder vor bestimmten Arbeits-schritten unabdingbar.

Chemische Desinfektion und Umweltschutz scheinen auf den ersten Blick zwei diametral zueinander stehende Bereiche zu sein. Substanzen, die gezielt Mikroorganismen zum Schutz des Menschen eliminieren, können über Abwässer, auch umweltrelevante Mikroben unterschiedlichster Art abtöten. Zudem enthalten einige Desinfektionsmittel Moleküle, wie z.B. umweltstabile Aldehyde oder Quartäre Ammoniumverbindungen (QAVs), welche in der Umwelt akkumulieren und sich je nach Konzentration langfristig toxisch auf Wasserorganismen auswirken können.

Fokus Händedesinfektion

 

Händewaschen wird oft als die hautschonendere Version und Desinfektionsmittel als „aggressivere“ Maßnahme der Händehygiene vermutet. Gerade in der Pandemie zeigte sich jedoch, dass übermäßiges Waschen der Hände mit Seife die Hautbarriere schädigt und damit die Entstehung irritativ-toxischer Handekzeme begünstigt. Folglich ist die Händedesinfektion dem häufigen Waschen vorzuziehen. Anders als bei der Oberflächendesinfektion müssen jedoch hautverträgliche Wirkstoffe eingesetzt werden, da nur diese entsprechend regelmäßig vom Anwender geduldet werden. Zentrales Element der Infektionsprävention ist eine flächendeckende Verfügbarkeit von Händedesinfektionsmitteln, welche einen umfassenden Infektionsschutz aber zeitgleich eine hohe Umweltverträglichkeit gewährleisten.

Produkte mit Natriumhypochlorit (NaOCl) werden als „besonders schonend, biologisch und natürlich“ beworben. Dieser Wirkstoff ist jedoch hochtoxisch und chemisch reaktionsfreudig. Er stellt ein Flächendesinfektionsmittel dar. Zur Händedesinfektion ist er in den meisten Ländern nicht zugelassen.

Chemisch reine Alkohole - Propanol bzw. Ethanol - in hoher Konzentration weisen hingegen eine breite Wirksamkeit gegen Bakterien, Pilze und teilweise Viren auf, indem sie die Proteine der Mikroorganismen unmittelbar irreversibel denaturieren und damit zerstören.

Die Alkohole sind auf intakter Haut sehr gut verträglich und zeigen drei wesentliche Vorteile: Sie wirken sehr schnell, trocknen innerhalb von 15-30 Sekunden rückstandsfrei ab und zeigen keine schädlichen oder reizenden Rückstände für Mensch und Umwelt. Eine Resistenzentwicklung gegen Propanol oder Ethanol kann ausgeschlossen werden.

Der Entfettung der Haut beugen pflegende Zusatzstoffe wie z.B. Dexpanthenol und Vitamin E vor. Sie sind unbedenklich für die Umwelt, während Glycerin energieaufwändig petrochemisch hergestellt wird, d.h. erdölbasiert ist.

Insbesondere der Nutzen von Inhaltsstoffen, die als „remanente Wirkstoffe“ (z.B. Chlorhexidin, Triclosan, Mecetroniumetilsulfat, Orthophenylphenol), also auf der Haut verbleibende Wirkstoffe, deklariert werden, muss kritisch hinterfragt werden.

Für Chlorhexidin wurde z.B. eine bakterielle Resistenzbildung, Induktion von Kreuzresistenzen gegenüber Reserveantibiotika sowie Hautirritationen und Anaphylaxien beschrieben. Zudem bleibt das Molekül im Abwasser stabil. Auch Triclosan kann Kontaktallergien hervorrufen und ist hochtoxisch für Wasser-organismen. 2016 wurde es daher in den USA als umwelt- und gesundheitsschädige Substanz in abspülbaren Hand- und Körperreinigungsprodukten verboten.

Die Kommission für Krankenhaushygiene und Infektionsprävention (KRINKO) rät daher ab: „Präparate mit Zusatz antimikrobiell remanent wirksamer Wirkstoffe sind nicht zu empfehlen, da durch ihre Zugabe keine verbesserte Wirksamkeit erreicht wird, aber das Risiko von Nebenwirkungen ansteigt“.

Fokus Oberflächendesinfektion

Gerade zur Desinfektion von Oberflächen- und Instrumenten müssen zahlreiche Parameter wie Materialverträglichkeit, die benötigte Einwirkzeit und/oder das erforderliche Wirkspektrum berücksichtigt werden.

International ist der Trend zu biologisch abbaubaren Reinigungsmitteln, wie z.B. der Einsatz von Enzymen, zu beobachten. Weiterhin werden zunehmend Desinfektions-tücher aus nachhaltigen Materialien, die bis dato oft aus PET (Polyethylenterephthalat) oder PP (Polypropylen) hergestellt wurden, angeboten. Für den professionellen Bereich werden vermehrt Produkte zur Oberflächendesinfektion auf Wirkstoffbasis von Peressigsäure (PAA, engl. peracetic acid) - welches nach Gebrauch in Sauerstoff, Wasser und Essig zerfällt - oder Aktivsauerstoff entwickelt. Sie weisen ein besonders hohes Leistungsspektrum (viruzid, sporizid) auf, sind mit vielen Materialien gut kompatibel und hinterlassen keine langlebigen toxischen Rückstände.

Eine wertvolle nachhaltige Ergänzung wäre die zeitnahe Umstellung auf upcyclingfähige oder recyclebare Desinfektionsmittelbehälter für Hände- und Flächendesinfektion und deren Rücknahme durch die Hersteller.

Datenbanken für Desinfektionsmittel

Wiener Desinfektionsmittel-Datenbank (WIDES-Datenbank), Österreich

Transparente Darstellung (in deutscher und englischer Sprache) der Gefährdungspotentiale kommerziell erhältlicher Desinfektionsmittel. Ermöglicht die Auswahl eines Desinfektionsmittels, welches für Personal, Patient*innen und Umwelt die geringsten Risiken bergen.

 

Gesellschaft für Hygiene, Mikrobiologie und Präventivmedizin (ÖGHMP), Österreich

Für routinemäßige Desinfektionsmaßnahmen im humanmedizinischen Bereich.

 

Robert-Koch-Institut (RKI), Deutschland

Liste geprüfter und anerkannter Desinfektionsmittel und -verfahren für behördlich angeordnete Desinfektionen im Humanbereich.

 

Desinfektionsmittel-Kommission des Verbundes für Angewandte Hygiene (VAH), Deutschland

Für routinemäßige Desinfektionsmaßnahmen im humanmedizinischen Bereich.

 

Industrieverband Hygiene und Oberflächenschutz (IHO), Deutschland

Nach Vorgaben der EU-Biozidverordnung geprüft, Wirksamkeit mit Gutachten belegt. Die gelisteten Biozidprodukte decken den Humanbereich, Veterinärbereich sowie Lebensmittelherstellung ab.

 

Bioziddatenbank der Europäischen Chemikalienagentur (ECHA)

Listung gemäß den Vorgaben der Biozidverordnung geprüfter

und zugelassener Wirkstoffe.

© OÄ Dr. med. univ. Mahitab Khalifa-Paruch, Wien, 11/2021